Online Catalogue

View Cart |  Checkout

<< Back

Dinah Washington: Four Classic Albums (After Hours With Miss D / For Those In Love / Dinah Jams / The Swingin’ Miss D) (2CD)

Dinah Washington: Four Classic Albums (After Hours With Miss D / For Those In Love / Dinah Jams / The Swingin’ Miss D) (2CD)

Ref: AMSC1367

(UK Postage Free )


People who bought this item also bought:
1. Pat Kirkwood: The Unforgettable Pat Kirkwood (2CD) (Ref: AMSC966)
2. Jessie Matthews: A Centenary Celebration (2CD) (Ref: AMSC907)
3. Jack Hylton & His Orchestra: Turn On The Heat (CD) (Ref: AMSC741)
AVID Jazz continues with its Four Classic Album series with a re-mastered 2CD release from Dinah Washington, complete with original artwork, liner notes and personnel details
“After Hours With Miss D”; “For Those In Love”; “Dinah Jams” and “The Swingin’ Miss D’”
At last, the wait is over, we hear you cry, again! AVID have finally inducted Miss Dinah Washington into our Four Classic Albums “hall of fame”! Ok so we have taken our time in paying tribute to the great lady, but we wanted to get it right, we wanted to select the best albums that truly captured Miss Washington’s huge vocal talents. And we think we have succeeded with the four selections we have chosen from when her career really took off after the sensationally exciting performance before a live studio audience “Dinah Jams” in 1954. Born in Alabama as Ruth Lee Jones in 1924, Ruth moved to Chicago and became involved in gospel music singing and playing piano in the school choir. At 15 she began playing in the clubs around Chicago and it wasn’t long before she found herself playing upstairs at The Garrick club at the same moment a certain Billie Holiday was entertaining the guest’s downstairs. Soon she would join the Lionel Hampton band after he had come to hear the newly named Dinah Washington perform at the club. Dinah Washington made her first recordings in 1944 and would go on to be described as “the most popular black female recording artist of the 1950’s”. We are proud to present four of her classic albums from that period, the high regard she was held in can be seen by the incredible line up of jazz musicians who are featured on these classic albums. They include, Quincy Jones, Clark Terry, Clifford Brown, Junior Mance, Maynard Ferguson, Max Roach, Jerome Richardson, Osie Johnson, Barry Galbraith, Cecil Payne & Jimmy Cobb.
Check out:- Anita O’Day (AMSC1136, 1129, 1126 & 963); Dakota Staton (AMSC1312 & 1259); Jeri Southern (AMSC1291); Chris Connor (AMSC1089); Ernestine Anderson (AMSC1170); Lurlean Hunter (AMSC1171); Morgana King (AMSC1021); Ann Richards (AMSC1239); Annie Ross (AMSC1015); Jeri Southern (AMSC1291); Billie Holiday (AMSC1329 & 989); Nancy Wilson (AMSC1349); Sarah Vaughan (AMSC1352); Peggy Lee (AMSC1290); Abbey Lincoln (AMSC1302); Helen Merrill (AMSC1337).

1-8: ‘After Hours With Miss D’
1. Blue Skies
2. Bye Bye Blues
3. Am I Blue
4. Our Love Is Here To Stay
5. A Foggy Day
6. I Let A Song Go Out Of My Heart
7. Pennies From Heaven
8. Love For Sale
9-16: ‘For Those In Love ’
9. I Get A Kick Out Of You
10. Blue Gardenia
11. Easy Living
12. You Don’t Know What Love Is
13. This Can’t Be Love
14. My Old Flame
15. I Could Write A Book
16. Make The Man I Love

1-8: ‘Dinah Jams’
1. Lover Come Back To Me
2. Alone Together
3. Summertime
4. Come Rain Or Come Shine
5. No More
6. I’ve Got You Under My Skin
7. There Is No Greater Love
8. You Go To My Head
9-19: ‘The Swingin’ Miss “D” ’
9. They Didn’t Believe Me
10. You’re Crying
11. Makin’ Whoopee
12. Ev’ry Time We Say Goodbye
13. But Not For Me
14. Caravan
15. Perdido
16. Never Let Me Go
17. Is You Is Or Is You Ain’t Ma Baby
18. I’ll Close My Eyes
19. Somebody Loves Me
20. You Let My Love Grow Cold (Bonus Tracks)
21. I Know (Bonus Tracks)

Basket Items:  
  Copyright 2007 Website Design by Clientel Systems