Online Catalogue

View Cart |  Checkout

<< Back

Johnny Griffin & Eddie ‘Lockjaw’ Davis: Four Classic Albums (Tough Tenors / Lookin’ At Monk / Blues Up And Down / Griff & Lock) (2CD)

Johnny Griffin & Eddie ‘Lockjaw’ Davis: Four Classic Albums (Tough Tenors / Lookin’ At Monk / Blues Up And Down / Griff & Lock) (2CD)

Ref: AMSC1309

(UK Postage Free )


People who bought this item also bought:
1. Dave Brubeck: Three Classic Albums Plus (Jazz Red Hot & Cool / Newport 1958 / Jazz Goes To Junior College) (2CD) (Ref: AMSC982)
2. Jimmy Smith: Four Classic Albums (The Sermon! / Crazy Baby! / Jimmy Smith’s House Party / Midnight Special) (2CD) (Ref: AMSC1321)
3. Stanley Turrentine: Four Classic Albums (Look Out / Dearly Beloved / Blue Hour / That’s Where It’s At) (2CD) (Ref: AMSC1319)
AVID Jazz continues with its Four Classic Album series with a re-mastered 2CD release from Johnny Griffin & Eddie “Lockjaw” Davis, complete with original artwork, liner notes and personnel details
“Tough Tenors”; “Lookin’ At Monk”; “Blues Up And Down” and “Griff & Lock”
Two tough tenors, indeed! These two titans of the tenor sax both had wildly prolific careers but somehow found the time to come together as a hard blowing unit from 1960-1962. Discovering they had compatible styles on their chosen tenors the pair decided to form their famous quintet where you will hear, rather than perhaps the expected cutting sessions, their styles perfectly complimenting each other. This was of course greatly helped by the fine band of jazzmen accompanying them, from the delicate piano of Junior Mance to the subtle but forceful rhythm section of Larry Gales on bass and Ben Riley on drums. Check out AMSC1266 for more great Johnny Griffin music and AMSC1079 for more great Eddie “Lockjaw” Davis music.

1-6: ‘Tough Tenors’
1. Tickle Toe
2. Save Your Love For Me
3. Twins
4. Funky Flute
5. Imagination
6. Soft Winds
7-13: ‘Lookin’ At Monk’
7. In Walked Bud
8. Well, You Needn’t
9. Ruby My Dear
10. Rhythm-a-ning
11. Epistrophy
12. ‘Round Midnight
13. Stickball (I Mean You)

1-7: ‘Blues Up And Down’
1. Camp Meeting
2. Blues Up And Down
3. Nice And Easy
4. Oh, Gee
5. Walkin’
6. Leapin’ On Lenox
7. Layin’ On Mellow
8-13: ‘Griff & Lock’
8. The Last Train To Overbrook
9. Hey Lock!
10. Midnight At Mintons
11. Second Balcony Jump
12. I’ll Remember April
13. Good Bait

Basket Items:  
  Copyright 2007 Website Design by Clientel Systems