Online Catalogue

View Cart |  Checkout

<< Back

Jimmy Reed: Four Classic Albums (Found Love / Rockin’ With Jimmy Reed / Now Appearing / Just Jimmy Reed) (2CD)

Jimmy Reed: Four Classic Albums (Found Love / Rockin’ With Jimmy Reed / Now Appearing / Just Jimmy Reed) (2CD)

Ref: AMSC1214

(UK Postage Free )


AVID Roots continues with its Four Classic Blues album series with a re-mastered 2CD release by Jimmy Reed, complete with original artwork and liner notes.
“Found Love”; “Rockin’ With Jimmy Reed”; “Now Appearing” and “Just Jimmy Reed”
Jimmy Reed is another blues legend with a familiar story to tell. Born in Mississippi where he learned to play guitar and harmonica, he joined the black exodus of the 1940’s to the industrial cities of the north in search of work away from the farms and cotton fields of the south. Reed arrived in Chicago in 1943 where he was immediately drafted and served in the Second World War. After the war he returned to Mississippi to marry before moving to Gary, Indiana to find work. All the while he was learning his musical craft and by the 1950’s he was becoming established as a popular blues musician. Jimmy Reed had many hits over the years, however his alcoholism prevented him from achieving the level of success and career longevity that fellow bluesmen B.B.King and John Lee Hooker had. He was however massively influential to the next generation of mainly white musicians during the great blues revival of the early sixties. Some of those who owe Jimmy Reed a debt of gratitude include The Rolling Stones, The Yardbirds (including Eric Clapton), Van Morrison, Steve Miller and even Elvis himself who recorded several Reed numbers.

1-12: ‘Found Love’
1. Baby, What You Want Me To Do
2. Found Love
3. Meet Me
4. I Was So Wrong
5. Going By The River, Part 2
6.Big Boss Man
7. Hush Hush
8. Where Can You Go
9. I’m Nervous
10. Going By The River, Part 1
11. I Ain’t Got You
12. Come Love
13-24: ‘Rockin’ With Jimmy Reed’
13. Going To New York
14. A String To Your Heart
15. Ends & Odds
16. Caress Me Baby
17. Take Out Some Insurance
18. The Moon Is Rising
19. Down In Virginia
20. I Know It’s A Sin
21. Wanna Be Loved
22. Baby, What’s On Your Mind
23. My Bitter Seed
24. Rockin’ With Reed

1-11: ‘Now Appearing’
1. Close Together
2. Got Me Chasing You
3. Wanta Be With You
4. Jimmy’s Rock
5. Tell The World I Do
6. You Know You’re Looking Good
7. I’ve Got The Blues
8. Laughing At The Blues
9. Down The Road
10. Ain’t Gonna Cry No More
11. You’re My Baby
12-21: ‘Just Jimmy Reed’
12.I’ll Change That Too
13. Let’s Get Together
14. Good Lover
15. Take It Slow
16. Too Much
17. In The Morning
18. Oh John
19. Back Home At Noon
20. Kansas City Baby
21. You Can’t Hide

Basket Items:  
  Copyright 2007 Website Design by Clientel Systems