Online Catalogue

View Cart |  Checkout

<< Back

Ricky Nelson: Four Classic Albums (Ricky / Ricky Nelson / Ricky Sings Again / Rick Is 21) (2CD)

Ricky Nelson: Four Classic Albums (Ricky / Ricky Nelson / Ricky Sings Again / Rick Is 21) (2CD)

Ref: AMSC1206

(UK Postage Free )


AVID Pop continues with its Four Classic Pop album series with a re-mastered 2CD release by Ricky Nelson, complete with original artwork and liner notes.
“Ricky”; “Ricky Nelson”; “Ricky Sings Again” and “Ricky Is 21”
Launching a singing career on television is almost the norm today, but back in 1957 it was unheard of. The young Ricky Nelson (born Eric Hilliard Nelson in May 1940) joined his parents’ radio show at the age of eight and by the time the The Adventures Of Ozzie And Harriet transferred to television in 1952, Ricky was well on his way to be a teen star. Latching on to the emerging rock ‘n’ roll craze and wanting to impress a girlfriend who was an Elvis fan, in early 1957 Ricky recorded a version of Fats Domino’s I’m Walking c/w A Teenager’s Romance backed by session musicians led by Barney Kessel . Debuting the A side on the April 10th 1957 edition of the Nelson’s TV show, the record was released the following week by the, hitherto staunchly jazz, Verve label and by the first week of May, I’m Walking was in the Top 20. It’s B side charted the following week, both sides ending up in the Top 5. Ricky Nelson was the proverbial overnight recording sensation.

1-14: ‘Ricky’
1. Honeycomb
2. Boppin’ The Blues
3. Be-Bop Baby
4. Have I Told You Lately That I Love You
5. Teenage Doll
6. If You Can’t Rock Me
7. Whole Lotta Shakin’ Goin’ On
8. Baby I’m Sorry
9. Am I Blue
10. I’m Confessin’
11. Your True Love
12. True Love
13. Stood Up (Bonus Track)
14. Waitin’ In School (Bonus Track)
15-26: ‘Ricky Nelson’
15. Shirley Lee
16. Someday
17. There’s Good Rockin’ Tonight
18. I’m Feelin’ Sorry
19. Down The Line
20. Unchained Melody
21. I’m In Love Again
22. Don’t Leave Me This Way
23. My Babe
24. I’ll Walk Alone
25. There Goes My Baby
26. Poor Little Fool

1-12: ‘Ricky Sings Again’
1. It’s Late
2. One Of These Mornings
3. Believe What You Say
4. Lonesome Town
5. Trying To Get To You
6. Be True To Me
7. Old Enough To Love
8. Never Be Anyone Else But You
9. I Can’t Help It
10. You Tear Me Up
11. It’s All In The Game
12. Restless Kid
13-24: ‘Rick Is 21’
13. My One Desire
14. That Warm Summer Night
15. Break My Chain
16. Do You Know What It Means To Miss New Orleans
17. I’ll Make Believe
18. Travellin’ Man
19. Oh Yeah I’m In Love
20. Everybody But Me
21. Lucky Star
22. Sure Fire Bet
23. Stars Fell On Alabama
24. Hello Mary Lou

Basket Items:  
  Copyright 2007 Website Design by Clientel Systems