Online Catalogue

View Cart |  Checkout

<< Back

Duke Pearson: Four Classic Albums (Tender Feelin’s / Byrd In Flight / Profile / Hush) (2CD)

Duke Pearson: Four Classic Albums (Tender Feelin’s / Byrd In Flight / Profile / Hush) (2CD)

Ref: AMSC1198

(UK Postage Free )


AVID Jazz continues with its Four Classic album series with a re-mastered 2CD release by Duke Pearson, complete with original artwork and liner notes.
“Tender Feelin’s”; “Byrd In Flight”; “Profile” and “Hush”
Another child protégé, Duke Pearson (yes the Duke does come from his uncle’s favourite film star John “Duke” Wayne…….only joking, it is of course from the great Duke Ellington !), began piano lessons at six. However by 12 he had stopped them in favour of the trumpet, sax and mellophone. In fact so enamoured was he of the trumpet he would go on to play it through college and during his draft in the Army. It was while in the army that he met pianist Wynton Kelly and was so inspired by his playing that he immediately decided to switch back to the ivories. This did of course necessitate learning the instrument he had abandoned years ago practically all over again! Duke’s early career would include playing with R&B acts like Little Willie John before moving to New York in 1959 where he met trumpeter Donald Byrd. Byrd would use some of Duke’s compositions and he and Duke would play regularly on each other’s albums, including one of our featured sets, “Byrd In Flight”. Other artists Duke Pearson would play with include Nancy Wilson, Pepper Adams, Art Farmer and Benny Golson. In his later career Duke would become head of A&R at Blue Note from 1963-1970 where he would also become an influential producer as well as regular session musician and release many more of his own albums.

1-7: ‘Tender Feelin’s’
1. Bluebird Of Happiness
2. I’m A Fool To Want You
3. I Love You
4. When Sonny Gets Blue
5. The Golden Striker
6. On Green Dolphin Street
7. 3 A.M.
8-13: ‘Byrd In Flight’
8. Ghana
9. Little Boy Blue
10. Gate City
11. Lex
12. “Bo”
13. My Girl Shirl

1-7: ‘Profile’
1. Like Someone In Love
2. Black Coffee
3. Taboo
4. I’m Glad There Is You
5. Gate City Blues
6. Two Mile Run
7. Witchcraft
8-15: ‘Hush’
8. Hush
9. Child’s Play
10. Angel Eyes
11. Smoothie
12. Sudel
13. Friday’s Child
14. Out Of This World
15. Groovin’ For Nat

Basket Items:  
  Copyright 2007 Website Design by Clientel Systems