Online Catalogue

View Cart |  Checkout

<< Back

Les Brown: Four Classic Albums (The Les Brown All Stars / That Sound Of Renown / Jazz Song Book / Swing Song Book) (2CD)

Les Brown: Four Classic Albums (The Les Brown All Stars / That Sound Of Renown / Jazz Song Book / Swing Song Book) (2CD)

Ref: AMSC1193

(UK Postage Free )


AVID Jazz continues with its Four Classic album series with a re-mastered 2CD release by Les Brown, complete with original artwork and liner notes.
“Les Brown All Stars”; “That Sound Of Renown”; “Jazz Song Book”; and “Swing Song Book”
Clarinetist, saxophonist, big band and dance band leader and composer Les Brown started his musical career with his own band, Les Brown & His Blue Devils in the early 1930’s before transforming the band into the now famous Band Of Renown in 1938. By 1945 the band had introduced Doris Day to the world via the hit song Sentimental Journey, and would go on to have another nine Number One hit songs. The Band Of Renown became a mainstay as the house band for Bob Hope during his radio, stage and TV show career. During one of the Hope shows Les Brown backed a new, unknown singer named Tony Bennett, and the rest of course is history! During a long career Les Brown played with all the greats including Sinatra, Ella and Nat King Cole.

1-12: ‘The Les Brown All Stars’
1. Mike’s Peak
2. Thou Swell
3. The Way You Look Tonight
4. You Don’t Know What Love Is
5. The Man I Love
6. Sorta Moonlight
7. Love Is Just Around The Corner
8. Klump Jump
9. My Funny Valentine
10. Love Me Or Leave Me
11. Let’s Fall In Love
12. Poopsie
13-22: ‘That Sound Of Renown’
13. I’ve Got My Love To Keep Me Warm
14. New Mexican Hat Dance
15. I’m Forever Blowing Bubbles
16. Bernie’s Tune
17. Highlights of George Gershwin’s “An American In Paris”
18. It’s Alright With Me
19. Something’s Gotta Give
20. The Gal From Joe’s
21. Lullaby In Rhythm
22. Nutcracker Suite Op 71

1-12: ‘Jazz Song Book’
1. King Phillip Stomp
2. Willow Weep For Me
3. Don’t Get Around Much Anymore
4. ‘S Wonderful
5. Apple Honey
6. I Remember You
7. The Claw
8. Pizza Boy
9. Let’s Get Away From It All
10. Love Is Here To Stay
11. I Only Have Eyes For You
12. Chelsea Bridge
13-24: ‘Swing Song Book’
13. Swing Book Blues
14. How High The Moon
15. Early Autumn
16. King Porter Stomp
17. Lullaby Of Birdland
18. Moten Swing
19. Just In Time (from “Bells Are Ringing)
20. I Want To Be Happy
21. Take The “A” Train
22. I’m Beginning To See The Light
23. Pick Yourself Up
24. Lean Baby

Basket Items:  
  Copyright 2007 Website Design by Clientel Systems