Online Catalogue

View Cart |  Checkout

<< Back

Dorothy Donegan: Four Classic Albums (At The Embers / Live / September Song / Donnybrook With Donegan) (2CD)

Dorothy Donegan: Four Classic Albums (At The Embers / Live / September Song / Donnybrook With Donegan) (2CD)

Ref: AMSC1184

(UK Postage Free )


AVID Jazz continues its Four Classic album series with a re-mastered 2CD release by jazz pianist and vocalist, Dorothy Donegan, complete with original artwork and liner notes
“At The Embers”; “Live”; “September Song” and “Donnybrook With Donegan”
“The only woman who can make me practice”….so said the great Art Tatum referring to one of his protege’s, pianist Dorothy Donegan, such was the power of her personality. Starting life in Chicago, Dorothy was classically trained on the piano from the age of eight, attending many musical schools and colleges and eventually going on to teach classical piano herself. She appeared in films with the likes of Cab Calloway and W.C.Fields in the forties but became well known as a night club entertainer around Chicago with her often outrageous costumes and wild performances. She played all kinds of music on piano from her beloved classical, to stride, boogie woogie, bebop and swing. Three of our selections find Dorothy live in concert so you can witness the dynamic Miss DD for yourselves!

1-12: ‘At The Embers’
1. That Old Black Magic
2. Over The Rainbow
3. Sweet Georgia Brown
4. My Funny Valentine
5. This Can’t Be Love
6. D.D.T.
7. Just In Time
8. September Song
9. Donegan Walk
10. Humoresque
11. Autumn Leaves
12. Lullaby Of Birdland
13-24: ‘Live’
13. After You’re Gone
14. Body And Soul
15. Put Your Arms Around Me, Honey
16. It’s Alright With Me
17. Little White Lies
18. How High The Moon
19. Caravan
20. It Had To Be You
21. Louise
22. Lullaby Of The Leaves
23. Someday Sweetheart
24. Fine And Dandy

1-10: ‘September Song’
1. I Can’t Give You Anything But Love
2. September Song
3. Up The Lazy River
4. Happiness Is A Thing Called Joe
5. St. Louis Blues
6. Love For Sale
7. Medley: Tenderly / Stella By Starlight
8. Lullaby Of Birdland
9. Dancing On The Ceiling
10. I Get A Kick Out Of You
11-22: ‘Donnybrook With Donegan’
11. A Foggy Day
12. September In The Rain
13. I’ve Got You Under My Skin
14. The D.D. Blues
15. Day In-Day Out
16. Lover
17. Tea For Two
18. Moonlight In Vermont
19. Thou Swell
20. I Only Have Eyes For You
21. I’ll Remember Paris
22. Bye Bye Blackbird

Basket Items:  
  Copyright 2007 Website Design by Clientel Systems