Online Catalogue

Basket Items:     Value:     

<< Back

Roland Kirk: Four Classic Albums (Introducing Roland Kirk / Kirk’s Work / We Free Kings / Domino) (2CD)

Roland Kirk: Four Classic Albums (Introducing Roland Kirk / Kirk’s Work / We Free Kings / Domino) (2CD)

Ref: AMSC1111

(UK Postage Free )


AVID Jazz presents four classic Roland Kirk albums plus including original LP liner notes on a finely re-mastered and low priced double CD.
“Introducing Roland Kirk”, Kirk’s Work”, “We Free Kings” and “Domino”.
Roland Kirk burst upon the jazz scene playing his weird assortment of instruments from tenor sax to the manzello (a soprano sax sounding instrument) and the stritch (which is a kind of straight alto sax). Our first selection is “Introducing Roland Kirk” accompanied by Ira Sullivan on trumpet, William Burton on piano and Sonny Brown on drums. In terms of how his sound later developed this, his second album recorded in 1960 was a relatively straight forward affair, although there are signs of what was to come in some of his own compositions. “Kirks Work” recorded in July 1961 highlights the more soul and R& B side of Kirk rather than the later more “out there” side! An often overlooked album featuring Jack McDuff on Hammond Organ, Joe Benjamin on bass and Arthur Taylor on drums it represents yet another stage in Kirks development. “We Free Kings” recorded across August 16th & 17th August 1961 features two line ups. Joining Kirk on five tracks are Richard Wyands on piano, Art Davis on bass and Charlie Persip on drums. For the other six tracks Kirk is joined by Hank Jones on piano, Wendell Marshall on bass and again Charlie Persip on drums. Although primarily a blues sounding album there are signs of things to come as Kirk began developing his simultaneously played three horn sound! He can also be heard playing the flute and kind of singing at the same time! “Domino” concludes our tribute to Roland Kirk where our man is joined on the first six tracks by Andrew Hill on piano, Vernon Martin on bass and Henry Duncan on drums. For the last four tracks he is joined by Wynton Kelly on piano, Vernon Martin again on bass and Roy Haynes on drums. On this album we can finally see the blossoming of the true Kirk sound and as the original liner notes attest…..”Roland Kirk’s stature as a major jazz figure is growing quickly…..this album his first with his own band, is important….this one is a great one….it will stay in your collections….it is a milestone in jazz history.” Praise indeed!
All four albums plus have been digitally re-mastered

1-6: ‘Introducing Roland Kirk’
1. The Call
2. Soul Station
3. Our Waltz
4. Our Love Is Here To Stay
5. Spirit Girl
6. Jack The Ripper
7-13: ‘Kirk’s Work’
7. Three For Dizzy
8. Makin’ Whoopee
9. Funk Underneath
10. Kirk’s Work
11. Doin’ The Sixty Eight
12. Too Late Now
13. Skater’s Waltz

1-9: ‘We Free Kings’
1. Three For The Festival
2. Moon Song
3. A Sack Full Of Soul
4. The Haunted Melody
5. Blues For Alice
6. We Free Kings
7. You Did It, You Did It
8. Some Kind Of Love
9. My Delight
10-19: ‘Domino’
10. Domino
11. Meeting On Termini’s Corner
12. Time
13. Lament
14. A Stritch In Time
15. 3-In -1 Without The Oil
16. Get Out Of Town
17. Rolando
18. I Believe In You
19. E.D.

Basket Items:  
  Copyright 2007 Website Design by Clientel Systems