Online Catalogue

View Cart |  Checkout

<< Back

Hampton Hawes: Three Classic Albums Plus (All Night Session Vol 1 / All Night Session Vol 2 / All Night Session Vol 3) (2CD)

Hampton Hawes: Three Classic Albums Plus (All Night Session Vol 1 / All Night Session Vol 2 / All Night Session Vol 3) (2CD)

Ref: AMSC1104

(UK Postage Free )


AVID Jazz here presents three classic Hampton Hawes albums plus including original LP liner notes on a finely re-mastered and low priced double CD.
“All Night Sessions Volumes 1, 2 & 3” plus nine tracks from “Hampton Hawes Trio”
We think the first paragraph from the original liner notes sums up what has been achieved on our first three selections and so we quote directly….. “As a group the three albums and sixteen selections comprising “All Night Session” represent a most unusual achievement in the annals of jazz recording. The almost two hours of music were recorded at a single continuous session, in order in which you hear the numbers, and without editing of any kind. Playing steadily for several hours is a taxing physical experience at best, but improvising continually for that length of time is an exhausting one, mentally and emotionally. Yet the later selections in “All Night Session” reveal no flagging of vitality, spontaneity, inventiveness. “The feeling wasn’t like recording” Hampton Hawes has said in commenting on the session. “We felt like we went somewhere to play for our own pleasure. After we got started, I didn’t even think I was making records. In fact we didn’t even listen to play-backs. We didn’t tighten up as musicians often do in recording studios – we just played because we love to play” Considering the buoyant beat, skilful pacing, variety of material, spontaneous jazz feeling and richness of invention, “All Night Session” is a testimonial of the highest order to musicianship of jazzman Hawes and his associates. Musicians involved were Hampton Hawes on piano, Jim Hall on guitar, Red Mitchell on bass and Bruz Freeman drums. For our final selection we find Hampton Hawes in a trio setting alongside Red Mitchell on bass and long time sideman Chuck Thompson on drums.
All three albums plus have been digitally re-mastered

1-5: ‘All Night Session - Volume 1’
1. Jordu
2. Groovin’ High
3. Takin’ Care
4. Broadway
5. Hampton’s Pulpit
6-11: ‘All Night Session - Volume 2’
6. I’ll Remember April
7. I Should Care
8. Woody ‘N You
9. Will You Still Be Mine
10. April In Paris
11. Blue ‘N Boogie

1: ‘All Night Session - Volume 2’
1. Two Bass Hit
2-5: ‘All Night Session - Volume 3’
2. Do Nothin’ Till You Hear From Me
3. Blues #3
4. Between The Devil And The Deep Blue Sea
5. Blues #4
6. I Got Rhythm from Hampton Hawes Trio
7. What Is This Thing Called Love from Hampton Hawes Trio
8. Blues The Most from Hampton Hawes Trio
9. So In Love from Hampton Hawes Trio
10. Feelin’ Fine from Hampton Hawes Trio
11. Hamp’s Blues from Hampton Hawes Trio
12. Easy Living from Hampton Hawes Trio
13. All The Things You Are from Hampton Hawes Trio
14. These Foolish Things from Hampton Hawes Trio

Basket Items:  
  Copyright 2007 Website Design by Clientel Systems