Online Catalogue

View Cart |  Checkout

<< Back

Terry Gibbs: Four Classic Albums (Swingin’ / Terry Gibbs Plays The Duke / More Vibes On Velvet / Music From Cole Porter’s Can Can) (2CD)

Terry Gibbs: Four Classic Albums (Swingin’ / Terry Gibbs Plays The Duke / More Vibes On Velvet / Music From Cole Porter’s Can Can) (2CD)

Ref: AMSC1100

(UK Postage Free )


AVID Jazz here presents four classic Terry Gibbs albums, including original LP liner notes on a finely re-mastered and low priced double CD.
“Swingin”; “Terry Gibbs Plays The Duke”; “More Vibes On Velvet” and “Music From Cole Porters Can Can”
Our first selection “Swingin” finds Mr Gibbs in the slightly unfamiliar territory of the big swing band! Using the finest New York arrangers including Manny Albam and musicians such as Bob Brookmeyer, Urbie Green, Don Elliott, Al Cohn and of course his regular pianist Terry Pollard, Gibbs whips up a storm! “Terry Gibbs Plays The Duke” finds Terry back in quartet mode for a tasteful album of Ellington classics enhanced by the inclusion of the accordionist Pete Jolly alongside Gary Peacock or Leroy Vinnegar on bass and Gary Frommer on drums. For “More Vibes On Velvet” the final paragraph from the original liner notes sums up the feeling of this second volume in the”Vibes” series! “Although Terry Gibbs presents a study in controlled intensity of mallets in motion, he unerringly conveys the impression of a jazzman singing to himself. The quality, rare as a Lawrence Welk scat chorus, is richly captured in this velvet -textured interlude”. Again we quote from the original liner notes for our final selection “Music from Cole Porters Can Can”. “In this album we hear the Gibbs interpretation of the Porter tunes, custom tailored in a small group context that never lets up swinging. The accent is on a small ensemble effect with jazz solos a-plenty” Featured musicians include Al McKibbon on bass, Frank Strazzieri on piano and Herb Ellis on guitar
All four albums have been digitally re-mastered.

1-11: ‘Swingin’
1. Funky Serenade
2. Gubi
3. Happiness Is A Thing Called Joe
4. Just Plain Meyer
5. Bewitched
6. Let’s Wail
7. Heads Or Tails
8. Slittin’ Sam
9. I Didn’t Know About You
10. Night Cap
11. Julie’s Bugle
12-21: ‘Terry Gibbs Plays The Duke’
12. Rockin’ In Rhythm
13. I Let A Song Go Out Of My Heart
14. Caravan
15. Solitude
16. Take The A Train
17. Sophisticated Lady
18. Do Nothin’ ‘Till You Hear From Me
19. Don’t Get Around Much Anymore
20. Johnny Come Lately
21. C-Jam Blue

1-12: ‘More Vibes On Velvet’
1. Moonlight Serenade
2. Blues In The Night
3. Impossible
4. What Is There To Say
5. I Remember
6. The Things We Did Last Summer
7. You Make Me Feel So Young
8. At Last
9. Lazy Sunday
10. Every Day Is Spring With You
11. With All My Love To You
12. Don’t Cry
13-22: ‘Music from Cole Porter’s Can Can’
13. Let’s Do It (Lets Fall In Love)
14. I Love Paris
15. C’Est Magnifique
16. You Do Something To Me
17. Just One Of Those Things
18. Live And Let Live
19. It’s Alright With Me
20. Montmarte
21. Can-Can
22. Come Along With Me

Basket Items:  
  Copyright 2007 Website Design by Clientel Systems