Online Catalogue

View Cart |  Checkout

<< Back

Jimmy Forrest: Four Classic Albums (Out Of The Forrest / Sit Down And Relax With Jimmy Forrest / Most Much / Soul Street) (2CD)

Jimmy Forrest: Four Classic Albums (Out Of The Forrest / Sit Down And Relax With Jimmy Forrest / Most Much / Soul Street) (2CD)

Ref: AMSC1096

(UK Postage Free )


People who bought this item also bought:
1. Hank Mobley: Three Classic Albums Plus (Mobley’s Message / 2nd Message / Jazz Message No. 2) (2CD) (Ref: AMSC1215)
AVID Jazz here presents four classic Jimmy Forrest albums including original LP liner notes on a finely re-mastered and low priced double CD.
“Out Of The Forrest”; Sit Down And Relax With Jimmy Forrest”; “Most Much” and “Soul Street”
Jimmy Forrest came from the “middle school” of jazz tenor men, somewhere between the pre bop style of Lester Young, Ben Webster and Coleman Hawkins and the post bop style of Stan Getz, Sonny Rollins and John Coltrane. His sound was both big and warm and steeped in the blues. “Out Of The Forrest” recorded in 1961 represents Jimmy Forrest’s first Prestige LP under his own name since his debut “Forrest Fire” on the Prestige New Jazz label that introduced new acts. Labelled in the original liner notes as “roadhouse music” where a band must play tight together to entertain the crowd with first dance numbers but also slow numbers for the smoochers. This lineup includes men who were with Forrest in the “Sweets” Edison band and had learnt to play with a tightness born of their experience together. Jimmy Forrest on tenor, Joe Zawinul on piano, (who of course went on to greater glory with Miles and Weather Report), Tommy Potter on bass and Clarence Johnston on drums. “Sit Down and Relax With Jimmy Forrest” again from 1961 features Calvin Newborn on guitar, Tommy Potter on bass, Hugh Lawson on piano and Clarendon Johnston on drums. Featuring a set list as “diverse and varied as anyone could want …………..Jimmy Forest and Co approach each tune with an originality and spontaneity that makes each tune seem new, although most of these tunes are old standards”. “Most Much” is an album which according to the original lines notes is “melodically satisfying, emotionally moving and highly danceable”. Jimmy is again joined by Hugh Lawson on piano, Tommy Potter on bass, Clarendon Johnston on drums with Ray Barretto on congas. While still a hard blowing set in the inimitable JF style, the music also represents a return to melody and away from the long and technically accomplished solos popular at the time. Who can the liner notes writer be referring to when he remarks …..”they have placed increasing emphasis and reliance on complex “way out” harmonic structures which is largely devoid of melodic content......dulled by monotonously long solos in which technical brilliance too often has to take the place of “soul” and “swing”?? For our final selection “Soul Street” Jimmy is showcased in three distinct settings, a small group in which he is the leader and pianist Hugh Lawson is heavily featured. On a track where three tenors are featured including Oliver Nelson and thirdly in front of a big band, again led by Oliver Nelson.
All four albums have been digitally re-mastered.

1-8: ‘Out Of The Forrest’
1. Bolo Blues
2. I Cried For You (Now It’s Your Turn To Cry Over Me)
3. I’ve Got A Right To Cry
4. This Can’t Be Love
5. By The River Saint Marie
6. Yesterdays
7. Crash Program
8. That’s All
9-14: ‘Sit Down And Relax With Jimmy Forrest’
9. Tuxedo Junction
10. Organ Grinder’s Swing
11. Moonglow
12. Tin Tin Deo
13. Rocks In My Bed
14. The Moon Was Yellow

1-7: ‘Most Much’
1. Matilda
2. Annie Laurie
3. Autumn Leaves
4. My Buddy
5. Soft Winds
6. Robbin’s Nest
7. Most Much
8-14: ‘Soul Street’
8. Soul Street
9. I Love You
10. Sonny Boy
11. Soft Summer Breeze
12. Experiments In Terror
13. Just A-Sittin’ And A-Rockin’
14. That’s All

Basket Items:  
  Copyright 2007 Website Design by Clientel Systems