Online Catalogue

View Cart |  Checkout

<< Back

Kenny Drew: Four Classic Albums (Introducing The Kenny Drew Trio / This Is New / Talkin’ & Walkin’ / Jazz Impressions Of Rodgers & Hart - Pal Joey) (2CD)

Kenny Drew: Four Classic Albums (Introducing The Kenny Drew Trio / This Is New / Talkin’ & Walkin’ / Jazz Impressions Of Rodgers & Hart - Pal Joey) (2CD)

Ref: AMSC1088

(UK Postage Free )


AVID Jazz here presents four classic (and hard to find or expensive) Kenny Drew albums including original LP liner notes on a finely re-mastered and low priced double CD.
“Introducing Kenny Drew”; “This Is New”; Talkin’ & Walkin’” and “Jazz Impressions of Rodgers & Hart - Pal Joey”
Perhaps unfairly overlooked in a crowded field of great jazz pianists around during his time from Monk, Bud Powell, Horace Silver to Wynton Kelly, Kenny Drew finally got to record this his first album in 1953. Having established himself at last through playing with the likes of Coleman Hawkins, Stan Getz and Lester Young he and his fine quartet were finally on their way and touring through 1952 and 1953. Here he is joined on “Introducing Kenny Drew” by Curly Russell on bass and the inimitable powerhouse Art Blakey on drums. For “This Is New” recorded through March and April 1957, Kenny’s reputation was now reflected in the band members he was attracting. Here we find him in the company of Donald Byrd on trumpet , Hank Mobley on tenor, Wilbur Ware on bass and G.T.Hogan on drums. This is current jazz, played by young musicians with considerable experience in the post or hard bop school coming up via the influence of Bird, Dizzy and Monk. “Talkin’& Walkin’” features the Kenny Drew Quartet from 1955 with Joe Maini on alto and tenor, Leroy Vinnegar on bass and Lawrence Marable on drums. The message here is one of simplicity……………keep it relaxed and natural, honest and unselfconscious. Finally “Jazz Impressions of Rodgers & Hart’s Pal Joey” a trio recording from New York in 1957 with Wilbur Ware on bass and Philly Joe Jones on drums. Here Drew takes five selections from the original Broadway show and adds three more Rodgers & Hart classics from the movie version to create “extremely meaty and rewarding material to work with”. All four albums are plus have been digitally re-mastered. Some are also currently hard to find or expensive, so Avid are pleased to be able to make them available once again.

1-8: ‘Introducing The Kenny Drew Trio’
1. Yesterdays
2. Stella By Starlight
3. Gloria
4. Be My Love
5. Lover Come Back To Me
6. Everything Happens to Me
7. It Might As Well Be Spring
8. Drew’s Blues
9-15: ‘This Is New’
9. This Is New
10. Carol
11. It’s You Or No One
12. You’re My Thrill
13. Little T
14. Paul’s Pal
15. Why Do I Love You?
16: ‘Talkin’ & Walkin’’
16. Talkin’- Walkin’

1-8: ‘Talkin’ & Walkin’
1. In The Prescribed Manner
2. Prelude To A Kiss
3. Wee Dot
4. Hidden Channel
5. Deadline
6. I’m Old Fashioned
7. Minor Blues
8. Walkin’-Tallkin’
9-16: ‘Jazz Impressions of Rodgers & Hart - Pal Joey’
9. Bewitched, Bothered And Bewildered
10. Do It The Hard Way
11. I Didn’t Know What Time It Was
12. Happy Hunting Horn
13. I Could Write A Book
14. What Is A Man?
15. My Funny Valentine
16. The Lady Is A Tramp

Basket Items:  
  Copyright 2007 Website Design by Clientel Systems