Online Catalogue

View Cart |  Checkout

<< Back

Urbie Green: Five Classic Albums (All About Urbie / Blues And Other Shades Of Green / Urbie Green And His Band / Urbie Green Septet / Urbie: East Coast Jazz) (2CD)

Urbie Green: Five Classic Albums (All About Urbie / Blues And Other Shades Of Green / Urbie Green And His Band / Urbie Green Septet / Urbie: East Coast Jazz) (2CD)

Ref: AMSC1075

(UK Postage Free )


AVID Jazz here presents five classic Urbie Green albums including original LP liner notes on a finely re-mastered and low priced double CD.
“All About Urbie Green”; “Blues & Other Shades of Green”; “Urbie Green & His Band”; “Urbie Green Septet” and Urbie:East Coast Jazz”
Born in Mobile, Alabama in 1926, Urbie Green began studying the piano at age seven before following his brother Jack and taking up the trombone in 1938.. Following stints in a number of New York bands Green joined the Woody Herman Herd and remained there for three years forging a reputation as a great band and session trombonist. Recorded in 1956 “All About Urbie” gives Urbie “a chance to utilise his horn in every conceivable way”…….blowing straight melody, jazz, section lead and even a line above the entire band. “Blues & Other Shades of Green” recorded in 1955 features a great line up including Jimmy Raney on guitar, Dave McKenna on piano, Percy Heath on bass and Kenny Clarke on drums. The tempo is comfortable, the tunes relaxed and well balanced as is the division of musical duties. “Urbie Green Septet” recorded in 1953 finds Urbie on the way up in the jazz hierarchy and features sideman of the calibre of Jimmy Lyon on piano, Doug Mettome on trumpet, Sam Staff on baritone sax and John Murtaugh on trumpet with Jimmy Campbell sitting behind on drums. “East Coast Jazz” is another session from 1955 and Urbie’s trombone is displaying the influence of Lester Young and Vic Dickenson and a line up that includes Oscar Pettiford on bass, Ike Horowitz on tenor and Jimmy Lyon on piano and with arrangements by Marion Evans also from Alabama!
All five albums plus have been digitally re-mastered

1-11: ‘All About Urbie Green’
1. Cherokee
2. I Ain’t Got Nobody
3. Stella By Starlight
4. Little John
5. With The Wind And The Rain In Your Hair
6. ‘Round Midnight
7. Sleep
8. Soft Winds
9. Springsville
10. Plain Bill From Bluesville
11. Home
12-22: ‘Blues And Other Shades Of Green’
12. Reminiscent Blues
13. Thou Swell
14. You Are Too Beautiful
15. Paradise
16. Warm Valley
17. Frankie And Johnny
18. One For Dee
19. Limehouse Blues
20. Am I Blue
21. Dirty Dan
22. It’s Too Late Now
23: ‘Urbie Green And His Band’
23. Old Time Modern

1-3: ‘Urbie Green And His Band’
1. I Got It Bad And That Ain’t Good
2. Lullaby Of Birdland
3. Med’s Tune
4-9: ‘Urbie Green Septet’
4. Incubator
5. Skylark
6. La Salle
7. Dansero
8. Stairway To The Stars
9. Johnbo Mambo
10-19: ‘Urbie: East Coast Jazz’
10. Mutation
11. On Green Dolphin Street
12. Just One Of Those Things
13. How About You?
14. When Your Lover Has Gone
15. Three Little Words
16. Sneaky Pete
17. Melody In Bb
18. Sassafras
19. Love Locked Out

Basket Items:  
  Copyright 2007 Website Design by Clientel Systems