Online Catalogue

View Cart |  Checkout

<< Back

Ben Webster: Three Classic Albums Plus (Blue Saxophones / Soulville / The Soul Of Ben Webster) (2CD)

Ben Webster: Three Classic Albums Plus (Blue Saxophones / Soulville / The Soul Of Ben Webster) (2CD)

Ref: AMSC1038

(UK Postage Free )


AVID Jazz here presents three classic Ben Webster albums plus including original LP liner notes on a finely re-mastered and low priced double CD.
“Blue Saxophones”…………Take the Oscar Peterson Trio with Alvin Stoller on drums, add two of the greatest tenor saxophonists who ever lived, Coleman Hawkins and Ben Webster and voila………you have Blue Saxophones! Two masters together in 1957, one (Hawkins) a huge influence on the other (Webster), but now,both very much their own men. As the final paragraph of Charles Fox’s liner notes attests “This is tenor playing in the grandest of manners, unashamedly romantic, even sensuous, with both musicians constructing their solos firmly and audaciously.” “Soulville”………Ben is once again joined by the Oscar Peterson Trio for another 1957 date. This time sitting in on drums is Stan Levey, in Bens own words “he’s improved since I heard him on the Street years ago.” Ben of course is a huge fan of Peterson…..”the guy can play a lot as a soloist but when it comes time for you to play a solo, he plays for you.” “The Soul Of Ben Webster”………..Here we find Ben joined by fellow tenor man Harold Ashby alongside among others Art Farmer on trumpet and Jimmy Jones on piano in a 1958 blowing date. As Benny Green reminds us in his liner notes “in a way the story of Ben Webster is the story of jazz itself over the last twenty years.” Great new and exciting players will always emerge but we must never forget the original practitioners like Webster, Young and Colman Hawkins and this fine album reminds us that Ben Webster was truly one of the jazz greats! “Sophisticated Lady” (Ben Webster with Strings & Quartet featuring Teddy Wilson)………………Unfortunately we cannot feature quite the entire album but we thought you would appreciate listening to some fine Ben Webster playing with strings. Alongside among others Teddy Wilson, Billy Strayhorn, George Duvivier and Louis Bellson and on some tracks accompanied by 3 violins, 1 viola and 1 cello listen as Ben performs classic songs including two numbers by his old boss Duke Ellington.
All three albums plus have been digitally re-mastered for probably the finest ever sound quality!

1-9: ‘Blues Saxophones’
1. Tangerine
2. La Rosita
3. Cocktails For Two
4. Shine On Harvest Moon
5. You’d Be So Nice To Come Home To
6. Blues For Yolande
7. Maria
8. It Never Entered My Mind
9. Prisoner Of Love
10-14: ‘Soulville’
10. Soulville
11. Late Date
12. Time On My Hands
13. Lover Come Back To Me
14. Where Are You

1-2: ‘Soulville’
1. Makin’ Whoopee
2. Ill Wind
3-9: ‘The Soul Of Ben Webster’
4. Chelsea Bridge
5. Charlotte’s Piccolo
6. Coal Train
7. When I Fall In Love
8. Ev’s Mad
9. Ash
10. All To Soon from Sophisticated Lady
11. Love Is Here To Stay from Sophisticated Lady
12. It Happens To Be Me from Sophisticated Lady
13. My Funny Valentine from Sophisticated Lady
14. You’re Mine, You from Sophisticated Lady
15. Sophisticated Lady from Sophisticated Lady
16. Love’s Away from Sophisticated Lady

Basket Items:  
  Copyright 2007 Website Design by Clientel Systems