Online Catalogue

View Cart |  Checkout

<< Back

Stan Getz: Three Classic Albums Plus (Stan Getz & The Oscar Peterson Trio / Hamp & Getz / Jazz Giants) (2CD)

Stan Getz: Three Classic Albums Plus (Stan Getz & The Oscar Peterson Trio / Hamp & Getz / Jazz Giants) (2CD)

Ref: AMSC997

(UK Postage Free )


AVID Jazz presents three classic Stan Getz albums - plus, including original LP liner notes on a finely re-mastered and low priced double CD.
'Stan Getz & The Oscar Peterson Trio', 'Hamp & Getz' and 'Jazz Giants' plus four additional tracks from Getz and Peterson and an outtake from the Hamp- Getz album. We guess you could say that this collection of classic albums follows the theme of our super-group idea with the recent Lionel Hampton release. For our first selection, the meeting of the cool Stan Getz and the perhaps more traditional Oscar Peterson Trio would certainly rate as a meeting of jazz superstars, take a listen and find out! The old meets the new with our next album as Stan Getz joins Lionel Hampton following a meeting of the two during sessions for the Benny Goodman Movie soundtrack. The difference in styles and musical theories seem to evaporate as the two giants are joined by Shelley Manne, Lou Levy and Leroy Vinnegar. Finally we have 'Jazz Giants' which as they say, does what it says on the tin...namely, features a true super-group of jazz musicians and again joins the old with the new in a scintillating session. Here Getz is again joined by the Oscar Peterson Trio alongside Gerry Mulligan from the new school and Harry Edison and Louis Bellson from the old. We think you will agree the session achieved Mulligan’s stated aim 'to organise a unit composed of some of the older jazzmen and those of the younger musicians who can do it. It would be a fine opportunity to play and create together'.
All three albums (plus) have been digitally re-mastered for probably the finest sound quality ever!

1-7: ‘Stan Getz & The Oscar Peterson Trio’
1. I Want To Be Happy
2. Pennies From Heaven
3. Ballad Medley: Bewitched, Bothered And Bewildered / I Don’t Know Why I Just Do / How Long Has This Been Going On / I Can’t Get Started / Polka Dots And Moonbeams
4. I’m Glad There Is You
5. Tour’s End
6. I Was Doing All Right
7. Bronx Blues
8. Sunday
9. Detour Ahead
10. Three Little Words
11. Blues For Herky
12-13: ‘Hamp & Getz’
12. Jumpin’ At The Woodside
13. Ballad Medley: Tenderly / Autumn In New York / East Of The Sun / I Can’t Get Started

1-3: ‘Hamp & Getz’
1. Louise
2. Cherokee
3. Gladys
4-8: ‘Jazz Giants’
4. Chocolate Sundae
5. When Your Lover Has Gone
6. Candy
7. Ballad Medley: Lush Life / Lullaby Of The Leaves / Makin’ Whoopee / It Never Entered My Mind
8. Wouldyn’ You
9. Gladys (Alternative Take)

Basket Items:  
  Copyright 2007 Website Design by Clientel Systems