Online Catalogue

View Cart |  Checkout

<< Back

Dizzy Gillespie: Four Classic Albums (For Musicians Only / Roy And Diz #2 / Sonny Side Up / Dizzy In Greece) (2CD)

Dizzy Gillespie: Four Classic Albums (For Musicians Only / Roy And Diz #2 / Sonny Side Up / Dizzy In Greece) (2CD)

Ref: AMSC1028

(UK Postage Free )


AVID Jazz here presents four classic Dizzy Gillespie albums, including original LP liner notes on a finely re-mastered and low priced double CD.
We feature four classic early recordings from the trumpet genius……….”For Musicians Only”, “Sonny Side Up”, “Roy & Diz #2” and “Dizzy in Greece”.
From 1956 “For Musicians Only” is a real blow out session featuring two 12+ minute assaults in “Be-Bop” and “Dark Eyes” as Dizzy gets stuck in with Sonny Stitt and Stan Getz. A year later “Sonny Side Up” teams Dizzy with the two sax Sonny’s……….Stitt and Rollins, for another combative session where we find Dizzy refereeing with his usual aplomb! From 1954 we have a second helping of “Roy & Diz” for some top flight jazz as the two trumpet titans lock horns again, their competitive edge creating some fine jazz of lasting quality. Finally we have “Dizzy In Greece” which formed part of Dizzy’s World Statesman Tour sponsored by the US State Department which saw jazz becoming a worldwide force of goodwill! The band reached its peak in Athens where it out rocked the rock throwing students having arrived just after the student riots of May 1956. Anger turned to joy as Dizzy and his band spelled out the happier, friendlier and more generous side of American life with explosive force! Please note “For Musicians Only” and “Dizzy In Greece” are only available as high priced imports. “Roy & Diz #2” is also becoming hard to find on CD!!
All four albums have been digitally re-mastered for probably the finest sound quality ever!

1-4: ‘For Musicians Only’
1. Be Bop
2. Wee
3. Dark Eyes
4. Lover Come Back To Me
5-8: ‘Roy And Diz #2’
5. Sometimes I’m Happy
6. Ballad Medley: I’m Through With Love / Can’t We Be Friends / Don’t You Know / I Don’t Know Why I Love You Like I Do / If I Had You
7. Limehouse Blues
8. Blue Moon

1-4: ‘Sonny Side Up’
1. On The Sunny Side Of The Street
2. The Eternal Triangle
3. After Hours
4. I Know That You Know
5-14: ‘Dizzy In Greece’
5. Hey Pete
6. Yesterdays
7. Tin Tin Deo
8. Groovin’ For Nat
9. Annie’s Dance
10. Cool Breeze
11. School Days
12. That’s All
13. Stable Mates
14. Groovin’ High

Basket Items:  
  Copyright 2007 Website Design by Clientel Systems