Online Catalogue

View Cart |  Checkout

<< Back

Coleman Hawkins: Three Classic Albums Plus (Bean Bags / The Genius Of Coleman Hawkins / Night Hawk) (2CD)

Coleman Hawkins: Three Classic Albums Plus (Bean Bags / The Genius Of Coleman Hawkins / Night Hawk) (2CD)

Ref: AMSC1025

(UK Postage Free )


AVID Jazz here presents three classic Coleman Hawkins albums plus, including original LP liner notes on a finely re-mastered and low priced double CD.
Bean bags are not just for kids………..and to prove it here’s our first album in this three album plus set, appropriately called “Bean Bags”. “Bean”, for tenor man Coleman Hawkins and “Bags”, of course for vibesman Milt Jackson in their first collaboration as co-leaders. On “The Genius of Coleman Hawkins” we discover that old dogs can learn new tricks as the “Hawk” is joined by the Oscar Peterson trio plus Alvin Stoller on drums. Having been somewhat eclipsed by the new breed of players like Lester Young in the late 1940’s how refreshing it is to hear Colman Hawkins’ “undying love of and enthusiasm for the jazz art”. “Night Hawk” recorded in 1960 shows that Hawkins had very little left to prove, he had secured his place as one of the true giants of jazz. But he still had plenty left to show off about as witnessed in the masterpiece from this album, the title track, a Hawkins composition entitled simply “Night Hawk”. Joined by Tommy Flanagan, Ron Carter, Gus Johnson and additional tenor man Eddie “Lockjaw” Davis this album was not just another excuse for a tenor showdown but a “warm conversation between two men who had different things to say in the same language”
All three albums plus have been digitally re-mastered for probably the finest sound quality ever!

1-6: ‘Bean Bags’
1. Close Your Eyes
2. Stuffy
3. Don’t Take Your Love From Me
4. Get Happy
5. Sandra’s Blues
6. Indian Blues
7-16: ‘The Genius Of Coleman Hawkins’
7. I’ll Never Be The Same
8. You’re Blase
9. I Wished On The Moon
10. How Long Has This Been Going On
11. Like Someone In Love
12. My Melancholy Baby
13. Ill Wind
14. In A Mellow Tone
15. There’s No You
16. The World Is Waiting For The Sunrise

1-2: ‘The Genius Of Coleman Hawkins’
1. Somebody Loves Me
2. Blues For Rene
3-7: ‘Night Hawk’
3. Night Hawk
4. There Is No Greater Love
5. In A Mellow Tone
6. Don’t Take Your Love From Me
7. Pedalin’
8. A Smooth One from The Newport Jazz Festival 1959
9. Sweet Sue from The Newport Jazz Festival 1959
10. Kerry from Coleman Hawkins And Roy Eldridge At The Opera House

Basket Items:  
  Copyright 2007 Website Design by Clientel Systems