Online Catalogue

Basket Items:     Value:     

<< Back

Clark Terry: Four Classic Albums (Introducing Clark Terry / One Foot In The Gutter / Clark Terry Quartet With Thelonious Monk / It’s About Time) (2CD)

Clark Terry: Four Classic Albums (Introducing Clark Terry / One Foot In The Gutter / Clark Terry Quartet With Thelonious Monk / It’s About Time) (2CD)

Ref: AMSC1102

(UK Postage Free )


AVID Jazz here presents four classic Clark Terry related albums, including original LP liner notes on a finely re-mastered and low priced double CD.
“Introducing Clark Terry”; The Dave Bailey Sextet-”One Foot In The Gutter”; “Clark Terry With Thelonious Monk” and Jimmy Hamilton’s- “It’s About Time”.
“Introducing Clark Terry”….not a bad line up for the first time Clark Terry had a full album of his own….”in which to express himself”. Clark Terry, of course, on trumpet, Cecil Payne on baritone sax, Jimmy Cleveland, trombone, Horace Silver, piano, Oscar Pettiford, cello and bass, Wendell Marshall, bass and Art Blakey on drums. Oh and arrangements by a certain Mr Quincy Jones! The Dave Bailey Sextet-”One Foot In The Gutter”, Clark Terry is here featured in the Bailey band, who is quoted in the original liner notes as saying….”I got the musicians…..particular favourites of mine…..together as soon as possible”. Joined for the recording session by fellow musicians and friends, the set takes on a party atmosphere with all musicians blowing up a storm. “Clark Terry Quartet with Thelonious Monk”- Mr Terry must have been doing something right as our next album finds him with his own quartet accompanied by the legendary pianist Thelonious Monk, in a very rare and extremely accommodating sideman role!! Completing the quartet is Sam Jones on bass and Philly Joe Jones on drums. This fine album could also be the first time that the fleugelhorn is featured as a jazz instrument! Jimmy Hamilton-”It’s About Time”-under-rated tenor saxophonist and clarinettist Jimmy Hamilton wrote all the material for this swinging album. He is joined by Clark Terry on trumpet and flugelhorn, Britt Woodman on trombone, Tommy Flanagan on piano, Wendell Marshall on bass and Mel Lewis on drums.
All four albums have been digitally re-mastered

1-8: ‘Introducing Clark Terry’
1. Swahili
2. Double Play
3. Slow Boat
4. Co-Op
5. Kitten
6. The Countess
7. Tuma
8. Chuckles
9-11: ‘One Foot In The Gutter’
9. One Foot In The Gutter
10. Well You Needn’t
11. Sandu

1-9: ‘Clark Terry Quartet With Thelonious Monk’
1. In Orbit
2. One Foot In The Gutter
3. Trust In Me
4. Let’s Cool One
5. Pea-Eye
6. Argentia
7. Moonlight Fiesta
8. Buck’s Business
9. Very Near Blue
10-15: ‘It’s About Time’
10. Two For One
11. Mr. Good Blues
12. Peanut Head
13. Stupid But Not Crazy
14. Nits And Wits
15. Gone With The Blues

Basket Items:  
  Copyright 2007 Website Design by Clientel Systems